Hon. Victor H. Dy, Jr.


With the help of the LGU Cauayan City, I am encouraging to make this website to foster transparency. It is a tool to provide better services to all sectors in the community especially in our respective barangays and it will also encourage public participation. The ultimate aim of this website is that eventually it will become a channel to facilitate business transactions efficiently using secured electronic payment systems. We are optimistic that renewed focus on our clients’ needs, along with careful execution of our strategy, will further our ability in realizing our mission of promoting peace and order, ensuring public safety, strengthening capability of local government units through active people participation and a professionalized corps of civil servants. Let us remain fully committed to increasing the value of our clients’ trust believing that what matters most is that we put our heart in doing our job.


To provide the environment that will forge unity among barangays and enable them to become truly empowering institutions promoting the welfare of their constituents through effective and morally enlightened governance.

The Liga ng mga Barangay strives to build communities capable of self-governance and management through a unifying process that enables and fosters relationships, sharing, openness and responsive participation.


A united and responsive Liga ng mga Barangay reflecting and articulating the aspirations of barangay governments across the nation in the pursuit of a just, humane and democratic society.

The Liga ng mga Barangay Cauayan City chapter seeks to be major catalyst of responsible and effective governance at the grassroots characterized by empowered leaders and citizenry, urban and rural development and economic growth.

The Liga ng mga Barangay History

The Liga ng mga Barangay began with the election in July, 1992, of its first National President, Alex David from Caloocan City.

The Liga ng mga Barangay is the largest of local government associations whose members come from the grassroots level. It represents a membership of almost 42,000 barangays.

The Liga began in 1958 with the organization of the Barrio Lieutenants’ Association of the Philippines (BLAP) organized through the assistance of the now-defunct Presidential Arm on Community Development. It had then a membership of around 20,000 barrio lieutenants.

In 1972 (1963), Congress enacted Republic Act No. 3590, otherwise known as the Revised Barrio Charter, which altered the title of barrio lieutenant to captain, consequently changing the organization in the Federation of Barrio Captains of the Philippines (FBCP).

Over the years, the membership significantly grew in number with the creation of new barrios. Thus, in 1972, the federation boasted a membership of 33,700.

A few years following the declaration of Martial Law on September 21, 1972, the barrio was renamed into barangay. This paved the way for the organizational restructuring of the entire federation. Then, the former Department of Local Government and Community Development (DLGCD) issued Memorandum Circular No. 74-62 dated November 19, 1974, which mandated a change in the mode of membership of the federation. What was once a federation of only the heads of the different barrios became a federation which included the entire barrio councils. The mode of membership was no longer by individual barrio captain but by council. This tremendously increased the membership of the federation which has now reached approximately 40,000 barangays nationwide.

Subsequently, a reorganization of the entire federation, then known as the Association of Barangay Councils (ABC) from the national down to the barangay level, was effected. The chapters at the municipal and city levels were called the Municipal Association of Barangay Councils (MABC) and the City Association of Barangay Councils (CABC) while at the provincial and regional levels, they were known as the Provincial Federation of the Association of Barangay Councils (PFABC) and Regional Federation of the Association of Barangay Councils, respectively. Later, the whole confederation of the various associations at the different local levels became officially known as the Pambansang Katipunan ng mga Barangay (PKB).

On January, 1975, the first national president of the PKB was elected in the person of Mrs. Nora Z. Petines, the first woman president, who hailed from San Isidro, Northern Samar.

With the change in administration in 1986 following the People Power Revolution, the PKB went into a hiatus until its revival and eventual reorganization in 1989. Then, on January, 1990, the PKB elected its new set of national officers. Nick Enciso, a Barangay Captain and a veteran journalist from Tagaytay City, won the presidency. He was shot to death on May 27, 1991[3] cutting short his term, and Alex David was eventually elected as national president.

It was during the latter’s term that the Local Government Code of 1991 was enacted. The new Code modified the name Pambansang Katipunan ng mga Barangay into what is now known nationwide as the Liga ng mga Barangay.[4]

The current league’s creation and purpose is mandated by Section 491 of the Republic Act 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991, as amended, which states:

There shall be an organization of all barangays to be known as the liga ng mga barangay for the primary purpose of determining the representation of the Liga in the sanggunians, and for ventilating, articulating and crystallizing issues affecting barangay government administration and securing, through proper and legal means, solutions thereto.[2]

In the year, 1995, Hon. Ruben Tumbaga was elected as the 1st Liga ng mga Barangay President in the City of Cauayan after his 3 years consecutive terms, Hon. Victor G. Dy was elected as the 2nd president in the year 2004 until 2013 after the year of services Hon. Victor H. Dy (son of Hon. Victor G. Dy) was elected.


BNEO Seminar

Barangays Officials undergo BNEO Seminar towards Grassroots Renewal and Empowerment Accountable and Transparent (GREAT) Brangays Program conducted by DILG and Liga ng mga Barangay last August 2018.


Mass Oath Taking of newly elected Barangay Officials of Cauayan City Isabela administered by Hon. Faustino “Bojie’ G. Dy III, Provincial Governor Isabela last July 29, 2018 at F.L. Dy Coliseum.


Barangay Night was held at the F. L. Dy Coliseum on April 13, 2018 7PM. As a part of the celebration of Gawagaway-yan Festival of Cauayan City Isabela.


Todas Dengue and clean up drive at Brgy. San Fermin with Hon Captain VJ Dy Jr, Brgy. Officials and City Health Office Staff.

General Assembly

Photo taken during the General Assembly last August 9, 2018 at Liga ng mga Barangay Office.


The Liga ng mga Barangay – Cauayan City conducts Bloodletting activity and free medical check-up to fellow Cauayeños.


Our Location

Connect with us



GLOBE/TM : 0916-526-9222
SMART : 0999-727-5090
SUN : 0923-657-8459
PLDT : (078) 652-1438


3rd Floor, Cauayan City Hall#107 Rizal Avenue, District III,Cauayan City, 3305 Isabela 

Follow us




Our partners

Cauayan City Trans Big